ACC MLAX: A primer for championship weekend

Peter Koutroumpis, Triangle Sports Network
Let 'em know
Peter Koutroumpis, Triangle Sports Network

DURHAM, N.C. – Heading into Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) men’s lacrosse championship play at Koskinen Stadium on Friday, did you know that six of 10 league games played this season have been decided by one goal, or that three ACC games have been decided in overtime?

It will come as no surprise if all four competing top-20 teams play to similar results this weekend.

Some more details and items to note before you pass through the gates, or review while in the stands.

Where and when

Koskinen Stadium, Duke University

Fri., Apr. 28 – Semifinals

#1 Syracuse vs #4 North Carolina – 6 p.m.

#2 Duke vs #3 Notre Dame – 8:30 p.m.

Sat., Apr. 29

Virginia vs Penn – Noon

Sunday, April 30

ACC Championship – Noon

Did you know?

2 – ACC teams hold the top two spots in this week’s NCAA RPI. Notre Dame is ranked No. 1, followed by Syracuse at No. 2. Four ACC teams are listed in the top 11 (No. 9 Duke and No. 11 North Carolina). Virginia stands at No. 18.

2 – Syracuse, the No. 1 seed in this weekend’s ACC Championship, has won the last two ACC Tournaments.

4 – Four ACC teams are ranked in this week’s national polls, including three in the top six led by No. 1/1 Syracuse. Duke is ranked No. 4/3, Notre Dame No. 6/7 and No. 18/20 North Carolina. Virginia is receiving votes in both polls.  Including this week, an ACC team has held the No. 1 ranking six times this season.

9 – ACC teams combine for nine wins against ranked non-conference competition, including a pair of wins over No. 1 ranked teams (North Carolina at No. 1 Denver and No. 1 Maryland at Notre Dame on March 4).

10 – Entering the 2017 season, all five ACC men’s lacrosse coaches ranked in the top 13 of winningest active Division I head coaches (by percentage) – 1. Syracuse’s John Desko (.759), 7. Notre Dame’s Kevin Corrigan  (.668), 8. Duke’s John Danowski (.667), 10. North Carolina’s Joe Breschi (.644) and 13. Virginia’s Lars Tiffany (.621).

13 – The ACC has 13 players on the 2017 Tewaaraton Award Watch List. ACC student-athletes have won the Tewaaraton Award five times in the 15-year history of the award. Past winners include Virginia’s Chris Rotelli in 2003, Virginia’s Matt Ward in 2006, Duke’s Matt Danowski in 2007, Duke’s Ned Crotty in 2010, and Virginia’s Steele Stanwick in 2011. Syracuse has had an additional three players win the award.

23 – The ACC placed 23 honorees on the Inside Lacrosse Preseason All-America Team, including a national-best five on the first team.

24 – Current ACC membership collectively owns 24 NCAA titles, including seven of the last nine and 12 titles during this century. A current ACC school has appeared in the NCAA Championship game 32 times overall and in 16 of the last 17 seasons.

38 – At least one current ACC member team has advanced to the national semifinals 38 straight seasons. The ACC boasts 68 appearances in Championship Weekend, while current membership combines for 77 appearances.