SAS Championship adds Cook, Frost and Faxon

Let 'em know
Peter Koutroumpis, Triangle Sports Network

Fifteen winners from Champions Tour season headed to Cary

CARY, N.C.Multiple winners from this season’s Champions Tour, including John Cook, David Frost, Michael Allen, Brad Faxon and Jeff Sluman, have all committed to play in the 2013 SAS Championship as announced on Tuesday.

The Champions Tour event returns to Prestonwood Country Club Oct. 7-13, with a deep field of competitors that includes numerous past champions and first-timers Nick Faldo and Colin Montgomerie.

“We have a very talented and competitive group of players in the SAS Championship field which should make for some great golf action in the Triangle,” said tournament director Jeff Kleiber.

“With valuable Charles Schwab Cup points on the line and one of the largest winner’s checks all year, we’ll have plenty of excitement on the course.”

Cook has seven top 10 finishes this year including a win at Mitsubishi Electric Championship.

Frost is currently sitting third in Charles Schwab Cup points after winning twice this season and recording eleven top 10 finishes.

Allen won the Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic and has a total of nine top 10 finishes this year.

Faxon and Sluman paired up to win the Liberty Mutual Insurance Legends of Golf team event earlier this year, but both will be heading to Cary seeking their first solo win of the season.

Champions Tour rookies set to make their SAS Championship debuts includes Kohki Idoki, Bart Bryant, Esteban Toledo, and John Riegger.

Idoki claimed the Senior PGA Championship in May in what was his first appearance in the event and first-ever trip to the United States.

Bryant became the 1,000th winner in the history of the Champions Tour after winning the Dick’s Sporting Goods Open in August in only his 14th event on the Tour, while Toledo won the Insperity Championship in May and the Montreal Championship in September.

Riegger will be new to the SAS Championship field but is familiar to playing in the area as he found success in Raleigh in capturing the Tour’s Rex Hospital Open title in 2010.

Fifteen of the Champion Tour’s 16 different winners this year, including previously announced SAS champions Bernhard Langer, Kenny Perry and Mark Wiebe, will all return to Cary with two wins on the year while Russ Cochran, Tom Pernice, Jr., and Craig Stadler have each claimed one title this season.