Duke WBB to host 2014 NCAA Tournament early rounds

Let 'em know
Peter Koutroumpis, Triangle Sports Network
Peter Koutroumpis, Triangle Sports Network

DURHAM, N.C. – The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) announced on Wednesday the host sites for the 2014 NCAA Women’s Division I Basketball Tournament early rounds with the Duke Blue Devils women’s basketball team selected as one of 16 hosts for the first and second rounds of play.

Duke will be involved as a host in the tournament for the second straight year and the fourth time over the last five years.

The Blue Devils are riding an 18-game winning streak in NCAA Tournament games played in Cameron Indoor Stadium, and own an all-time record of 20-2 in NCAA Tournament contests played at home while hosting games in Cameron 11 times out of 19 postseason appearances.

Other sites hosting in 2014 include Ames, Iowa (Iowa State); Baton Rouge, La. (LSU); Chapel Hill, N.C. (UNC); College Park, Md. (Maryland); College Station, Texas (Texas A&M); Iowa City, Iowa (Iowa); Knoxville, Tenn. (Tennessee); Lexington, Ky. (Kentucky); Los Angeles, Calif. (UCLA); Seattle, Wash. (Washington); Storrs, Conn. (UConn); Toledo, Ohio (Toledo); University Park, Penn. (Penn State); Waco, Texas (Baylor); and West Lafayette, Ind. (Purdue).

Winning teams will advance to the tournament regional sites in Lincoln, Neb. (Nebraska); Louisville, Ky. (Louisville); Notre Dame, Ind. (Notre Dame), and Stanford, Calif. (Stanford).

Duke is coming off posting a 33-3 overall and 17-1 league mark last season, as the Blue Devils advanced to the NCAA Elite Eight for the fourth straight year and won the ACC Championship.