2014 SAS Championship announces final field

Peter Koutroumpis, Triangle Sports Network
SAS Champsionship
SAS Champsionship

CARY, N.C. – Rocco Mediate, Corey Pavin and Peter Jacobsen highlight the latest additions to the final field for the 2014 SAS Championship as announced on Friday.

The official Champions Tour event returns to Prestonwood Country Club Oct. 10-12, and will feature 12 winners from this season.

“It was a pleasant surprise to receive Rocco, Corey and Peter’s commitments, having them in the field are welcome additions,” tournament director Jeff Kleiber said.

“With great weather in the forecast and the fantastic setting at Prestonwood, it should be another memorable week at the SAS Championship.”

Fresh off his duties as a commentator during NBC and the Golf Channel’s Ryder Cup coverage, Jacobsen will return to Prestonwood for the first time in two years.

Earlier this summer, Jacobsen served as commentator for the men’s and women’s U.S. Opens at Pinehurst.

Winner of the 1995 U.S. Open, Pavin has recorded three top-10 finishes this year.

He finished T6 at the Constellation SENIOR PLAYERS Championship in June and T7 in last month’s Pacific Links Hawai’i Championship.

Mediate’s best finish at a major came at the 2008 U.S. Open where he battled with eventual champion Tiger Woods through 18 playoff holes, finally bested by Woods in the first hole of sudden-death, the 91st hole of the tournament.

Mediate has six PGA Tour wins and earned two victories last season during his rookie year on the Champions Tour.

In addition to Mediate, ten players will be making their SAS Championship debut including, Stephen Ames, Billy Andrade, Woody Austin, Jose Coceres, Marco Dawson, Paul Goydos, Lee Janzen, Skip Kendall, Wes Short Jr. and  Kevin Sutherland.

Kendall is in the field as a sponsor’s exemption alongside Chip Beck, Neal Lancaster, Gary Koch and Jim Rutledge.

Sandy Lyle and Nick Price unfortunately withdrew.

The final field features 27 of the top 30 players on this year’s money list and 12 winner’s from the 2014 Champions Tour season including former SAS Champions Tom Pernice Jr. (2009), Kenny Perry (2011), Russ Cochran (2010 and 2013) and World Golf Hall of Fame Member Bernhard Langer (2012).