Tar Heels, Blue Devils on All-ACC MLAX team

Peter Koutroumpis, Triangle Sports Network
Let 'em know
Peter Koutroumpis, Triangle Sports Network
Peter Koutroumpis, Triangle Sports Network

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Eleven Tewaaraton Award watch list candidates highlighted the All-Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) Men’s Lacrosse Team as announced on Wednesday.

The team was determined by a vote of the league’s five head coaches.

North Carolina and Syracuse each had five selections, while Notre Dame, Duke, and Virginia followed with four, three, and one respectively.

Jake Bailey, Jimmy Bitter, Ryan Kilpatrick, Joey Sankey and Chad Tutton represented North Carolina, while Deemer Class, Will Haus, and Myles Jones were Duke’s reps.

Sankey earned his third straight All-ACC selection, while Bitter and Tutton were repeat picks from a season ago.

Also earning repeat honors were the Blue Devils’ Class and Jones.

Bitter (4.93), along with Syracuse’s Rice and Donahue (4.73), and Jones (4.64) rank 1-4 among conference players in points per game, and rank seventh, eighth and 11th, respectively among all NCAA Division I players.

All are ready to lead their teams in the upcoming 2015 ACC Men’s Lacrosse Championship that begins on Friday at PPL Park in Chester, Pa.

Individual awards, including Offensive Player, Defensive Player, Coach and Freshman of the Year, will be voted on by the league’s head coaches following the ACC Championship.

2015 All-ACC Men’s Lacrosse Team

A – Jimmy Bitter, Sr., North Carolina *

A – Joey Sankey, Sr., North Carolina *

A – Conor Doyle, Sr., Notre Dame

A – Matt Kavanagh, Jr., Notre Dame *

A – Kevin Rice, Sr., Syracuse *

A – Dylan Donahue, Jr., Syracuse *

M – Deemer Class, Jr., Duke *

M – Myles Jones, Jr.,  Duke *

M – Chad Tutton, Sr., North Carolina *

M – Sergio Perkovic, So., Notre Dame *

M – Nicky Galasso, Sr., Syracuse

D – Jake Bailey, Sr., North Carolina

D – Matt Landis, Jr., Notre Dame *

D – Brandon Mullins, Jr., Syracuse *

F/O – Ben Williams, So., Syracuse *

SSM – Will Haus, Sr., Duke

LSM – Ryan Kilpatrick, Sr., North Carolina

G – Matt Barrett, So., Virginia

* 2015 Tewaaraton Award Candidates