Carolinas Golf Roundup: Eades claims 2017 Mid-Am title

Carolinas Golf Association,
Let 'em know
Carolinas Golf Association,

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Charlotte local John Eades overcame a six shot deficit in driving rain and wind and earned his first Carolinas Golf Association (CGA) title at the 37th Carolinas Mid-Amateur following the final round of play at Providence Country Club on Sunday.

The field struggled under difficult conditions, and the 34-year-old’s one-under 71 was the only score under par posted during the final round of play on the 6,782-yard layout.

“My par-3 game saved me today,” Eades said.

“I made birdies on three of the five out there.”

A five-iron to two feet for birdie on No. 11 kick-started his back-nine charge.

A six-iron for a five-foot birdie put Eades at three-under, and despite a closing bogey, Eades’ championship total of two-under 214 secured a two-shot victory.

After playing 36 holes at seven-under-par, leader Thomas Todd III (Laurens, S.C.) was unable to hold on to a five-shot advantage to begin the day.

A final round 82 dropped him into a fifth place finish.

“It was a humbling experience,” Todd said.

“I missed a three-foot birdie putt on the first hole and couldn’t get it going after that.”

Reigning North Carolina Mid-Amateur champion Greg Earnhardt of Greensboro held a share of the lead thru six holes, but four bogeys on the back nine erased his chances of holding both mid-am titles.

He finished tied for second with Brett Boner of Charlotte at even-par 216.

Play was delayed nearly an hour in the late morning as a result of lightning in the area.

It was during that break in play when Eades checked the leaderboard.

When he saw Todd was already four-over, he knew he had a chance.

“I thought if I could post something under par, it might be enough with today’s tough conditions.”

37th Carolinas Mid-Amateur Championship
Providence Country Club, Charlotte, N.C.
Sat., Apr. 22, 2017

Place Competitor  Score
1 John Eades, Charlotte, N.C.   73-70-71–214  (-2)
T2 Greg Earnhardt, Greensboro, N.C.   70-72-74–216  (Even)
T2 Brett Boner, Charlotte, N.C.   70-74-72–216  (Even)
4 Sherrill Britt, West End, N.C.   74-70-73–217  (+1)
5 Thomas Todd III, Laurens, S.C.   69-68-82–219  (+3)
T6 Chris Buffaloe, Raleigh, N.C.   71-74-75–220  (+4)
T6 Jim Grainger, Charlotte, N.C.   69-78-73–220  (+4)
T6 Brandon Reece, Rolesville, N.C.   71-77-72–220  (+4)
T9 Scott Park, Charlotte, N.C.   71-72-78–221  (+5)
T9 Jarrett Grimes, Columbia, S.C.   72-75-74–221  (+5)
T11 Dr. James Pearson, Charlotte, N.C.   74-72-76–222  (+6)
T11 Josh Branyon, Honea Path, S.C.   71-72-79–222  (+6)
T11 Steven Brame, Henderson, N.C.   71-73-78–222  (+6)
T11 Robert Lutomski, Simpsonville, S.C.   71-71-80–222  (+6)
15 Brad Mundy, Hickory, N.C.   75-73-75–223  (+7)
T16 Jeremy Ray, Pfafftown, N.C.   75-77-72–224  (+8)
T16 Joe Jaspers, Huntersville, N.C.   72-72-80–224  (+8)
T16 John L Heffernan, Charlotte, N.C.   68-79-77–224  (+8)
T19 Pat Thompson, Asheville, N.C.   69-76-80–225  (+9)
T19 Stephen Woodard, Charlotte, N.C.   75-78-72–225  (+9)
T21 Phil Miller, China Grove, N.C.   76-73-78–227  (+11)
T21 Walter Todd Sr, Laurens, S.C.   74-72-81–227  (+11)
T21 Steve Liebler, Irmo, S.C.   77-74-76–227  (+11)
T21 Walker Taylor IV, Wilmington, N.C.   74-78-75–227  (+11)
T25 Chris Cassetta, Kernersville , N.C.   73-74-81–228  (+12)
T25 Brian Westveer, Charlotte, N.C.   73-78-77–228  (+12)
T27 Scott Burnett, Matthews, N.C.   74-78-77–229  (+13)
T27 Keith Waters, Raleigh, N.C.   73-77-79–229  (+13)
T27 Daniel Neveu, Pinehurst, N.C.   76-76-77–229  (+13)
T27 Bryan Tucker, Columbia, S.C.   76-71-82–229  (+13)
T27 Paul Tucker, Waxhaw, N.C.   76-73-80–229  (+13)
T27 Steve Harwell, Mooresville, N.C.   78-74-77–229  (+13)
T27 Banks Wood Jr., Charlotte, N.C.   78-73-78–229  (+13)
T27 Brandon Hiott, Walterboro, S.C.   78-75-76–229  (+13)
T27 Scott Campbell, Wake Forest, N.C.   74-77-78–229  (+13)
T36 Aaron York, Durham, N.C.   76-76-78–230  (+14)
T36 Gary Robinson, Fayetteville, N.C.   75-76-79–230  (+14)
T36 Matthew Wiggins, Laurens, S.C.   72-72-86–230  (+14)
T39 Ron Kirkpatrick, Charlotte, N.C.   74-77-80–231  (+15)
T39 Parks Price, Longs, S.C.   75-79-77–231  (+15)
41 Dustin Moore, Greensboro, N.C.   76-78-78–232  (+16)
T42 Timothy Driver, Holly Springs, N.C.   75-79-79–233  (+17)
T42 Nicholas Brown, Lenoir, N.C.   79-74-80–233  (+17)
T42 Bill Bierman, Waxhaw, N.C.   72-80-81–233  (+17)
T45 Keith Kepley, Charlotte, N.C.   78-75-81–234  (+18)
T45 Adam Markin, Matthews, N.C.   78-73-83–234  (+18)
T45 Preston Yates, Winston-Salem, N.C.   79-74-81–234  (+18)
T48 David Brown, Conover, N.C.   76-76-83–235  (+19)
T48 Ashley Berry, Pittsboro, N.C.   77-75-83–235  (+19)
T48 Chad Frye, Davidson, N.C.   75-79-81–235  (+19)
T51 Kenneth Bass, Pinehurst, N.C.   73-77-86–236  (+20)
T51 Brad Dawson, Mebane, N.C.   78-75-83–236  (+20)
T53 Michael Swiger, Raleigh, N.C.   75-72-WD–WD  (WD)
T53 Braxton McLennan, Charlotte, N.C.   77-77-WD–WD  (WD)
T53 Andrew Morgan, China Grove, N.C.   78-74-WD–WD  (WD)
T53 Geno Berchiatti, Greenville, S.C.   75-75-WD–WD  (WD)
T53 Harrison Rutter, Winston-Salem, N.C.   75-73-WD–WD  (WD)
T53 Macon Moye, Pinehurst, N.C.   70-75-WD–WD  (WD)
T53 Chad Wilfong, Charlotte, N.C.   75-73-WD–WD  (WD)
T53 Rob Butler, Camden, S.C.   74-77-WD–WD  (WD)
Failed to Qualify for Final Round
T61 Brad Buxton, Greensboro, N.C.   77-78  (+11)
T61 Rob Hukill III, Raleigh, N.C.   74-81  (+11)
T61 Matthew Laydon, Charleston, S.C.   79-76  (+11)
T61 Jeff Rausch, Charlotte, N.C.   75-80  (+11)
T61 Sean McAvoy, Johns Island, S.C.   79-76  (+11)
T61 John Berger, Charlotte, N.C.   77-78  (+11)
T61 James Steed, Holly Springs, N.C.   76-79  (+11)
T61 Douglas Perkins, Gastonia, N.C.   74-81  (+11)
T69 Jim Gallagher, Charlotte, N.C.   72-84  (+12)
T69 Cam Warren, Pineville, N.C.   80-76  (+12)
T69 Uly Grisette III, Winston Salem, N.C.   79-77  (+12)
T69 Kevin Omundson, Huntersville, N.C.   78-78  (+12)
T69 Doug Ramey, Greer, S.C.   77-79  (+12)
T69 Jonathan Jackson, Chapel Hill, N.C.   74-82  (+12)
T69 Russ Tanis, Pineville, N.C.   77-79  (+12)
T69 Brandon Bradosky, Greenville, S.C.   83-73  (+12)
T69 David Cook, Cedar Point, N.C.   80-76  (+12)
T69 Will Cannon, Morganton, N.C.   77-79  (+12)
T79 Paul Clark, Charlotte, N.C.   77-80  (+13)
T79 James Bohn III, Cary, N.C.