Wolfpack’s Moore Named Finalist for 2019 Naismith Coach of the Year Award

Let 'em know

Peter Koutroumpis


RALEIGH, N.C. – N.C. State Wolfpack head coach Wes Moore was named among four finalists for the 2019 Werner Ladder Naismith Women’s Coach of the Year Award as announced on Thursday.

Along with Moore, Lisa Bluder (Iowa), Kim Mulkey (Baylor) and Vic Schaefer (Mississippi State) were named as finalists chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s national voting academy, comprised of leading journalists from around the country, current and former head coaches, former award winners and conference commissioners, all of whom base their selections on outstanding coaching performances during the 2018-19 college basketball season.

All four finalists lead their teams into play in the upcoming 2019 NCAA Tournament starting Friday.

Moore has led the Wolfpack to the best start to a season in program history (21-0), the longest winning streak in program history (21 games), and a third-place finish in the Atlantic Coast Conference.

In 2017, he was named the ACC Coach of the Year along with being one of the top 10 candidates for the Naismith Women’s Coach of the Year Award.

Awarded ESPNW’s ACC Coach of the Year Award in 2014, Moore has led the Wolfpack to a 138-57 (.707) record that includes a 63-33 (.656) mark in ACC games.

N.C. State opens play in the NCAA Tournament as a No. 3 seed and will host 14th-seeded Maine in first-round play on Saturday at Reynolds Coliseum.

Peter Koutroumpis: 401-323-8960, @pksport