High Point lacrosse’s Lomas, Geisler named Atlantic Sun Players of the Year

Let 'em know
HPU Athletic Communications, HighPointPanthers.com
HPU Athletic Communications, HighPointPanthers.com

High Point, N.C. – High Point Panthers attackman Dan Lomas was named the Atlantic Sun Offensive Player of the Year and goalkeeper Austin Geisler was named the Defensive Player of the Year as announced by the league on Wednesday.

Lomas and Geisler were also part of a group of eight High Point players selected to All-Conference teams.

Jamie Piluso, Matt Thistle and Pat Farrell were named First Team All-Atlantic Sun, while Brad James, Bucky Smith, and Garrett Swaim were All-Atlantic Sun Second Team selections, with Michael LeClair being named to the All-Freshman team

Tyler Cook earned the league’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year award.

Lomas leads the league with 35 goals this season and is third in total points with 39, recording a point in each of High Point’s last 23 games while carrying a goal-scoring streak of 14 games.

Geisler was a six-time Defensive Player of the Week selection and leads the Atlantic Sun in goals against average (9.43) this season, while also sitting second in the NCAA in saves per game (13.79) and fifth overall in save percentage (.596).

Faceoff specialist Piluso was the league’s only unanimous All-Conference selection, leading the league in faceoff wins, and currently sitting 18th nationally with a .580 win percentage.

Thistle who earned Player of the Week honors in late March, currently leads the league in points (3.36) and assists per game (2.36) while totaling 47 points (14 goals, 33 assists) this season.

LeClair was named to the All-Freshman team sitting third on the Panthers’ scoring list behind Lomas and Thistle with 22 points (12 goals, 10 assists) on the season so far.

High Point won a share of the Atlantic Sun regular season championship and as the second seed will face fourth-seeded Richmond in the tournament final after defeating No. 3 seed Jacksonville 12-11 on Thursday.

Atlantic Sun All-Conference

First Team


Dan Lomas, High Point
A       Matt Thistle, High Point
A       Mickey Hofmeister, VMI
M       Kenny Meinsen, Furman
M       Cole Branch, Mercer
M       Mitch Goldberg, Richmond
D       Pat Farrell, High Point
D       Austin Curtis, Jacksonville
D       Tyler Prasnicki, VMI
FO     Jamie Piluso, High Point
LS      Jackson Cabot, Richmond
G       Austin Geisler, High Point

Second Team

A       Chris Baxa, Mercer
A       Zack Ward, Mercer
A       Brad Burnam, Richmond
M       Brad James, High Point
M       Bucky Smith, High Point
M       Timmy Geran, Mercer
D       Garrett Swaim, High Point
D       Colin Massa, Mercer
D       Ryan Dennis, Richmond
D       Brendan Hynes, Richmond
FO      Hil Blaze, Furman
LS      Tyler Black, Jacksonville
G       Mike Nugent, Mercer


A       Zack Coker, Furman
A       Graham Dabbs, Furman
A       Michael LeClair, High Point
A       JP Forester, Richmond
M       Mitch Goldberg, Richmond
M       Scott Primeau, Furman
M       Jean-Luc Chetner, Richmond
D       Brendan Hynes, Richmond
D       Colin Massa, Mercer
FO      Hil Blaze, Furman
A       Dan Ginestro, Richmond
M       Dale Mattice, VMI