Duke’s Wolf named ACC Offensive Player of the Year

Let 'em know
Peter Koutroumpis, Triangle Sports Network
Peter Koutroumpis, Triangle Sports Network

Durham, N.C. – Duke Blue Devils attackman Jordan Wolf was named the 2014 Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) Men’s Lacrosse Offensive Player of the Year as announced on Thursday.

Wolf leads the ACC with 47 goals and is ranked second in total points (72), fourth in assists per game (1.67), and fourth in shots per game (7.20).

Wolf is the first Blue Devil to garner the ACC Offensive Player of the Year award since the conference split the player of the year honor into two categories in 2012, and earned the 11th major ACC award for the Blue Devils.

The first player in Duke history and seventh in ACC history to be voted All-ACC four times in his career, Wolf has led the Blue Devils offense throughout his career at Duke.

Wolf has posted at least a point in 56 straight games dating back to his rookie season and is tops among all active players in career points (273) and is second in goals (167).

With 25 assists this season Wolf became the fourth Blue Devil and 14th player in ACC history to register at least 100 career goals and 100 career assists.

Wolf will leave Duke as one of the top scorers in both Blue Devils and ACC lacrosse history, currently ranking third at Duke and fourth in the ACC in career points and fourth and fifth, respectively, in career goals.

In addition, his 273 points and 167 goals over the past four seasons both rank 17th all-time in NCAA history.

As a Tewaaraton Award nominee, Wolf registered nine hat tricks this season and 29 for his career and has five-plus points in eight different games in 2014.

2014 ACC Men’s Lacrosse Individual Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Jordan Wolf, Sr., A, Duke

Defensive Player of the Year: Niko Amato, Sr., G, Maryland

Freshman of the Year: Connor Cannizzaro, Fr., A, Maryland

Coach of the Year: John Tillman, Maryland