Former Duke, UNC lacrosse players named to Team USA

Peter Koutroumpis, Triangle Sports Network

Peter Koutroumpis, Triangle Sports Network

DURHAM/CHAPEL HILL, N.C. – Former Duke Blue Devils men’s lacrosse players Ned Crotty and David Lawson as well as UNC Tar Heels lax alum Marcus Holman were named as part of the U.S. Men’s National Team that will compete in the upcoming Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Championship in Denver, Colo. from July 10-19.

The team was selected from a 31-player roster that attended training camp last week in Connecticut and Massachusetts, and competed in last Thursday’s Major League Lacrosse (MLL All-Star) Game held at Harvard Stadium in Cambridge, Mass

“These men were selected from a group of 52 that participated in Orlando and 31 that participated this past week, so we feel this is a very solid team that will represent our country well in Denver,” Team USA head coach and Tar Heels alum Richie Meade said.

“Several of the men who have been part of this process distinguished themselves, but weren’t chosen for this team. We’re very humbled to represent our country and endeavor to do so to the best of our collective ability.”

Duke was one of five programs – along with Johns Hopkins, Maryland, Cornell, and Penn State – to have multiple players selected to the national team.

Crotty is one of four players on the 23-man roster who returns from the 2010 gold-medal winning squad and has been a mainstay with Team USA over the past five years and currently plays with the New York Lizards in the MLL.

He is fourth on the Lizards in scoring with 10 goals and five assists (15 points).

During his five seasons playing in the MLL, the 2010 Tewaaraton Award winner has posted 156 points – scoring 80 goals to go along with 75 assists.

Crotty led Duke to its first NCAA title in 2010 and currently ranks fifth in career points (239) and second in career assists (147).

A 2013 USILA first team All-American, Lawson will don a U.S. jersey for the first time in international competition.

Lawson finished his collegiate career with 105 points (73g, 32a) and helped lead Duke to an NCAA championship in 2013.

He currently plays professionally for the Rochester Rattlers and has scored 14 goals and tallied four assists through eight games played this season.

In two MLL seasons, he has totaled 32 goals and nine assists for 41 points.

Holman, the Tar Heels 2013 team captain and national player of the year finalist, was selected as another rookie on Team USA.

He is the first UNC player named to a final roster for a FIL Championship event since current Tar Heels head coach and then-defenseman Joe Breschi and midfielder Ryan Wade both played in the 1998 tournament.

Holman was sole captain of the 2013 Tar Heels, the first solo captain since 1990 and only the second since 1981, and holds the longest consecutive scoring streak in UNC history (29 games).

He finished his career at Chapel Hill with 213 career points (121g, 92a), the most by any Tar Heels player to date as well as currently ranking second and third all-time in goals and assists, respectively.

Crotty, Lawson, Holman and the rest of Team USA will next head to the Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Colo., for a final training camp that will take place July 6-9 before beginning the program’s world title defense in Denver on July 10.

2013 U.S. Lacrosse Men’s National Team

Ned Crotty, New York Lizards, Duke*
Marcus Holman, Ohio Machine, North Carolina
Kevin Leveille, Rochester Rattlers, Massachusetts
Brendan Mundorf, Chesapeake Bayhawks, UMBC*
Rob Pannell, New York Lizards, Cornell
Garrett Thul, Florida Launch/Philadelphia Wings, Army

Matt Abbott, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Syracuse
Kevin Buchanan, Boston Cannons, Ohio State
Dan Burns, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Maryland
Kyle Harrison, Ohio Machine, Johns Hopkins^
David Lawson, Rochester Rattlers, Duke
Paul Rabil, Boston Cannons, Johns Hopkins*
Max Seibald, New York Lizards/Philadelphia Wings, Cornell*

Mitch Belisle, Boston Cannons, Cornell
Jesse Bernhardt, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Maryland
Tucker Durkin, Florida Launch, Johns Hopkins
Michael Evans, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Johns Hopkins
Kyle Hartzell, New York Lizards, Salisbury
Lee Zink, Denver Outlaws, Maryland

Drew Adams, New York Lizards, Penn State
Jesse Schwartzman, Denver Outlaws, Johns Hopkins

Chris Eck, Boston Cannons, Colgate
Greg Gurenlian, New York Lizards, Penn State


* 2010 U.S. men’s national team member
^ 2006 U.S. men’s national team member

Two alternates were selected to travel with the team to Colorado Springs and Denver, and will be added to the active roster only in the instance of injury.

Per FIL policy, no changes to the active roster may be made after Wednesday, July 9.

John Galloway, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse
Steele Stanwick, Ohio Machine, Virginia