Duke attackman Wolf named Tewaaraton Award finalist

Peter Koutroumpis, Triangle Sports Network

Peter Koutroumpis, Triangle Sports Network

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke Blue Devils attackman Jordan Wolf was named one of five finalists for the Tewaaraton Award as announced by the Tewaaraton Foundation on Thursday.

The Tewaaraton Award is presented annually to the nation’s top men’s and women’s lacrosse players and Wolf is in contention for the prestigious award along with Loyola Greyhounds defenseman Joe Fletcher, Princeton Tigers midfielder Tom Schreiber, and Albany Great Danes attackmen Lyle and Myles Thompson.

The ACC Offensive Player of the Year, Wolf is the seventh Blue Devil to be named a Tewaaraton Award finalist, joining a list of highly accomplished former Duke players that includes Kevin Cassese, Matt Danowski, Zack Greer, Ned Crotty, Max Quinzani and CJ Costabile.

Duke’s offensive leader throughout his career, Wolf has posted 51 goals and 80 points overall so far this season as the defending NCAA-champion Blue Devils enter the upcoming 2014 NCAA Tournament as the top seed and will open play against the Air Force Falcons at Koskinen Stadium on Sunday.

The four-time All-ACC selection leads the Blue Devils with 10 hat tricks and nine five-plus point performances in 2014.

Wolf was also named the ACC Player of the Week on four occasions this season, and posted a career-high eight points, tallying five goals and three assists in Duke’s 21-7 regular-season win over Syracuse.

With 281 career points (171 goals, 110 assists) so far, Wolf has etched his name in Duke, ACC and NCAA records books.

He currently sits third in Duke and ACC history and 16th on the NCAA list in points, and third at Duke, fourth in the ACC, and 16th in NCAA history in goals.

Wolf has played in 77 career games, led the team in scoring over the past three seasons, and has helped the Blue Devils to post a 58-19 record entering this year’s NCAA Tournament.

One Comment

on “Duke attackman Wolf named Tewaaraton Award finalist
One Comment on “Duke attackman Wolf named Tewaaraton Award finalist
  1. Pingback: NCAA Lacrosse 2014: Top-seeded Duke seeks to down Air Force | Triangle Sports Network

Comments are closed.